American Hustle (2013)

“Glamorous With a Top-Class Cast” 10/10

 

I had high hopes for this film having seen the line-up, and I wasn’t disappointed. Christian Bale, Bradley Cooper, Amy Adams, Jennifer Lawrence and Jeremy Renner pull together to create a story that is fast paced, smooth and witty. Each character is so strong and brings something totally different to the film, and the quality of acting was some of the best I’ve seen.

The entire film has a beautiful relaxed 70’s atmosphere which complements the pacy dialogue, and hits the ground running with a flashback opening scene. Atmosphere provides a real escapism here: the sets, costumes, music and dialogue are glamorously old-fashioned and authentic. Straight away the audience is drawn into the world of con artist Irving Rosenfeld (Bale) and his relationship with partner in crime Sydney Prosser (Adams) and the mysterious FBI agent Richard DiMasio (Cooper). The film unfolds slowly and smoothly moves between various hustles and more explosive character interactions. It really is the incredible dimensions that each character has within the story that makes it so enjoyable: the contrasts between Adams and Lawrence, and Bale and Cooper’s roles provides some wonderful moments of comedy, emotion and drama. There’s also a great minor role for Robert De Niro to watch out for.

Slick and glamorous, American Hustle boasts an excellent cast and top-class acting. This pacy and dramatic film is sure to keep you captivated throughout the many plot twists through its engaging characters and beautiful styling.

6 thoughts on “American Hustle (2013)

  1. I have seen some very good reviews of this film, and yours adds to the list Claire. I hoped it would get more recognition at the Oscars, but was unlikely to overcome the emotional impact and political correctness factor of 12 Years A Slave.
    I now look forward to seeing it even more!
    Best wishes, Pete.

  2. Thank you Pete! I’ve been a bit lazy with posting this review, I went to see this in January after reading a couple of good reviews, but hadn’t realised I hadn’t posted my review here! Have you seen 12 Years A Slave? I’ve heard that’s excellent as well but I didn’t get round to seeing it at the cinema. I’m working my way through this year’s Oscar nominated films so I’ll get to it eventually! I really enjoyed this film though and I’m excited to watch it again when it’s released on DVD!

  3. I have to confess that I have not seen 12 Years A Slave. Unless it is on Film 4 one night, I am unlikely to bother with it. I see very few films these days, at least very few modern films, to be precise. Almost nothing on offer at this year’s Oscars was of much interest to me, but I am a bit of a grumpy old sod, and rather set in my ways. All the best films I have ever seen were in a language other than English, and had subtitles at the bottom of the screen.
    I haven’t completely given up though, and rely on avid film watchers like yourself to guide me in the right direction.
    Best wishes from Norfolk, Pete.

    • I tend to be similar in that I often don’t enjoy an over-hyped film, and didn’t consider watching many of the Oscars offerings this year, but having seen a couple such as this and Gravity and really enjoying them I’m trying to give the other a go too. I haven’t seen many foreign films, normally I would just watch the more modern films, but recently I’ve been enjoying more arty films and I’m slowly branching out!

      • Keep branching Claire! You are young, and have youth on your side.
        Without getting into lists, try these, when you get a chance.
        ‘The Lives Of Others’. Magnificent central performance, ultimately bleak film, about the former East Germany. Better than it sounds. Won the Oscar, Bafta, and Cesar.
        ‘Bombon:El Perro’. An Argentinian film about a man and a dog. Sounds dull? It isn’t. Heartwarming, life-affirming stuff.
        No subtitles please? Then maybe ‘The Station Agent’. Peter Dinklage in an American Indie one-off.
        Some to consider, loads more if you don’t fancy those.
        Regards from Norfolk, Pete.

Leave a Reply

