The Lone Ranger (2013)

“Enjoyable Western Adventure That is Unfairly Criticised” 9/10

 

The Lone Ranger tells the exciting tale of the Lone Ranger, John Reid (Armie Hammer), from the perspective of Native American warrior Tonto (Johnny Depp), who rescues him and offers his help in bringing the notorious Butch Cavendish (William Fichtner) to justice, which throws the pair into many adventures along the way.

I was surprised to see that many critics had dismissed this film and it has actually been a flop at the box office. Even from the very beginning I felt caught up in the adventure and found it to be very thrilling. It has a lovely Western setting and lots of brawls and gunfights (although reasonably tame as this is a family film). I think part of the charm of the film is that the tale is being recounted from the perspective of Tonto, now an elderly man, to a young boy full of excitement and amazement for the story, eager to learn more. It resonates those childhood memories of being enchanted by a bold story such as this, that lingers in the mind and fuels the imagination, something that we eventually grow out of a little, and I liked the reminiscent touch that this offered. Even as an adult the plot is still thrilling and it’s something of a different offering from Disney, more along a Pirates of the Caribbean feel in terms of adult themes and action sequences.

Johnny Depp is outstanding in this, really embracing the role of the Native American warrior and bringing his own brand of quirkiness to it that brings a few laughs. Armie Hammer, an unknown actor to me until now, also impressed me in this film, as the somewhat reluctant but heroic Lone Ranger. The more minor characters were also relative unknowns to me, besides Helena Bonham Carter, but I didn’t feel there was a particularly weak link in the casting.

The Lone Ranger is an enjoyable Western adventure that is family friendly and exciting. Don’t be put off by the negative reviews, I think it’s sadly underrated and unfairly criticised – if you’re looking for a fun, quirky adventure then give this a shot.

3 thoughts on “The Lone Ranger (2013)

  1. I am old enough to remember the TV series of the Lone Ranger, so it is highly unlikely that I would ever watch this, even on TV. I like the enthusiasm in your review though Claire, and I am pleased that you enjoyed it.
    The three words that finished it for me however, were ‘Disney’, ‘Family’ and ‘Friendly’. One to watch with the kids, I suspect.
    Very best wishes, Pete.

    • Thanks! I’ve never seen the TV series but share your opinion that this probably doesn’t match up! I suspect this is far more tame and “Disney-ish” but nevertheless it’s good for family viewing, I have a younger brother and sister who enjoyed it. Best wishes!

      • The TV show was very old-fashioned, and something of classic of its day. I would think that anyone watching it now would regard it as a comedy!
        They weren’t so far off at Disney then…
        Regards, Pete.

Leave a Reply

